Educational Society of Ireland

Pangea Maths Competition 2018

The prize for most participants went to Gaelcholáiste Luimnigh, Limerick.

Pangea, the Europe wide mathematics Olympiad has just celebrated its 5th highly successful annual event in Ireland. Currently 21 countries run the Pangea competition with over 500,000 students participating.

The competition sets out to eliminate the fear of Maths through promoting participation while inspiring talented students to quest for mathematics excellence.

This year the competition was both online and paper-based, students throughout Ireland completed first round papers under supervision within their own schools. Approximately the top 130 then attended the Irish finals in Trinity College Dublin on May 12th and finalists were awarded with medals and a voucher.  The school with the most participants overall won an iPad.

Hosted by The Educational Society of Ireland (ESI) and graciously attended by Maureen O’Sullivan TD, James Lawless TD, Prof. Sinéad Ryan from the School of Mathematics of Trinity College, Prof. Richard Conroy of The Royal College of Surgeons, Dr Johnston McMaster, ESI Advisory Board, Dr. Peter Admirand DCU, Dr. Gerald Keane BCL, Senator Ged Nash, Senator Padraig O’Ceidigh, Senator Gerard P Craughwell, Senator Gerry Horkan, with messages of support sent by Minister of State for Training, Skills, Innovation, Research and Development Mr. John Halligan, Senator Ms. Ivana Bacik, and Senator David Norris.

The winners of Pangea 2018 were awarded as follows:

1st year winners:

1st Tiernan O’ Shaugnnessy of Gaelcholáiste Luimnigh

2nd Liam Ward of Coláiste Chiaráin, Athlone

3rd Jodie Ni Maoldomhnaigh of Gaelcholáistean Chláir

2nd year winners

1st Emily Wolfe of Mount Mercy College, Cork,

2nd Jason Horan of St Mary’s CBS, Portlaoise

3rd Nina Keating of Mount Mercy College, Cork.

3rd year winners

1st Seoda Ni Chaoimh of GhaelcholáisteLuimnigh

2nd Oscar Ganley of St Mary’s CBS, Portlaoise

3rd Dara O’ Sullivan of Ghaelcholáiste Luimnigh.

4th year winners

1st Daniel Lough of Coláiste Chiaráin, Athlone,

2nd Yi Ming Qin of St. Paul CBS, Dublin

3rd Cian Mcauliffe of Gaelcholáiste Luimnigh.

The prize for most participants went to: Gaelcholáiste Luimnigh, Limerick.

The finals proved a resounding success with large numbers of students, teachers, parents and supporters in attendance. ESI CEO Fiona O’Malley predicts an even bigger event in 2019 based upon an ever-increasing number of schools and students involved in the event over the years.

See for more details.

Check for more photos

1st Floor, 23 Marlborough Street

Dublin 1 – Ireland

Tel.: +353 (1) 670 86 70